This is a venti Starbucks cup.

VENTI CUP

And I plan to fill it with Green Tea Latte, of course also from Starbucks.

Now what does this have to do with the aforementioned number of 680?

The price of a venti Green Tea Latte in Starbucks right now is P160.00. That plus tip of P10.00 amounts to P170.00 That amount multiplied by four (4) gets us 680. With me so far?

What I plan to do is collect 680 pieces of 25 centavo coins. Which will of course now add up to the aforementioned amount of P170.00. Which I will then use to buy the Venti sized Green Latte.

Why do I want to do this? No I am not a sadist nor do I have anything against Baristas. I am a man who gets ideas like this from time to time. As I’ve said before it doesn’t take much to amuse me. And sometimes these ideas become the proverbial itch that needs scratching. I’ve done this before although the money then was used to buy a cassette tape (yes this was 15 years ago) by Better than Ezra. (Ed! Are you reading this?) And we used purely one (1) peso coins to buy the tape. Collecting was more fun than the buying, if you ask me.

I’ve already started collecting for my current project for some time now. Current count is 426. Thats 254 more coins to go.  (Is it me or does this post have so many numbers?) And as you can see I am tipping. (Chay!!  10 pesos does not compensate for counting 680 coins!!!)

Somewhere out there a Barista quivers as he/she psychically hears the coins marking her as the doomed, I mean willing Starbucks crew who will count them.

Hopefully this happens soon. Hopefully I can post a video or pic of the event when it happens.

