Feels like I’m on a roll 3 posts in as many days. I guess I still have plenty of adrenaline to burn up after the run.

Or does physical activity make a minute portion of my brain squeeze out more of the creative juices?

Running is my muse? Well weirder things have happened.

“Chay sumali kami sa Nike Run ngayong October, gusto mo sumali? Sali ka na. Masaya yun Pre.”

(“Chay, we signed up for the Nike run this October do you want to join? C’mon. It will be fun Dude.”)

ALL RUNNERS MUST JOIN!! REMEMBER BIG BROTHER IS WATCHING!!!

And that was how Mike Oledan invited me to the 2011 Nike We Run Manila Event.

I was actually leery of going since I noted that the event only had a 10Km category.

Could my knee take it? How will I know if I don’t try right?

Also, despite the name run event you’re not exactly obligated to run the whole way. But it would have been nice if I could.

So I signed up with Kuya Mario and his son, Lemuel, to the event.

Sadly due to bad weather and health issues, e.g. cold and fever, we were not able to practice on the three weeks leading to the event.

Not to mention my mallet finger incident happened 10 days before the event.

But all things in their time and the day came.

I left my car at Kuya Mar’s and we walked to the event. Let’s just say we had a 2Km walk for our warm up.

Let me take the time to say that this was my first ever RunRio event. They gave me a nice bright red-orange Nike shirt marking me as runner 29053. I think the event is worldwide.

They also gave each runner a schnazzy RF sensor which will record your race time.

Such techie things tickle the inner geek. 😀

Not to mention it could be a sensor for some orbital laser to track you.

TRACKER ONLINE.  RUNNER 29053 DESIGNATE:  RICHARD TAN YOU ARE TOO SLOW!!!!  FIRING THE LASER!!!!

Wooohooo!!!

Chay famous you maybe for ranting, get back on topic!!

Sorry. The place was packed, I mean there were at least five thousand people there. Although they did say eight thousand registered.

When it was time to assemble before gun start the road started to look like a sea of orange from my view point.

When they had someone come up to lead the group in stretching not too many people could do it there just wasn’t enough room.

Then it was gun start, we all had to walk slowly to the start as we got funneled unto the sensors.

LINE UP TO BE DIGITIZED LITTLE HUMANS. REMEMBER. BIG BROTHER IS WATCHING.

 I started out pretty ok I ran, or was it jog, the first 2 Km. Although I probably ran an extra 200m from going left and right avoiding everyone who slowed down.

Finally as predicted my unpreparedness came out, I got winded and started my run/walk/run the rest of the way.

RUNNER 29053 DESIGNATE:  RICHARD TAN YOU ARE ACTUALLY  SLOW. PREPARE TO MEET YOUR MAKER. FIRING THE LASER. BIG BROTHER COMMANDS IT.

There was only one bad area during the run when we had to run beside a road they allowed vehicles to pass by. Inhaling fumes while breathing rapidly during a run a does not equate to a healthy combo.

Naturally having so many runners with you means taking a lot of dodge rolls all the time.

I tried my best to run most of the way.

Unfortunately on the last 2Km back I felt like my lower legs were about to cramp. My conditioning, or the lack of it in this case, was turning into a huge factor.

I managed to run the last 250m though. Strangely that cramping I felt did not happen.

Good for me. 😀

RUNNER 29053 DESIGNATE:  RICHARD TAN. CROSSED FINISH LINE IN 01:49:43.47. SUBPAR. NEXT TIME DO BETTER. REMEMBER. BIG BROTHER IS WATCHING.

Thank you God for allowing me to finish another run event.

Overall, I enjoyed it.

I did learn a few things.

Train –> Although I am so stating the obvious I would like to do this again next quarter. Hoping also to join a 5Km run event each month from here on out.

Here’s a small chart to show some items I will maintain doing and a few things I should improve while doing this.

Thank You Team USB For taking A picture of me dead on during the event.

And lastly although I did not learn this on the run. Never forget.

Pray –> Where else do you get your strength?

A special thanks for everyone who helped me get to this.

Mike Oledan –> For inviting me.

Mario Gemal & Lemuel Gemal –> For registering me and joining the event.

RunRio –> For organizing the event. I’ll train for Run United 3.

God Almighty for everything that’s happened leading to this point.

Run safe guys.

Video: Click on pic to view

