I somehow got the chance to watch Mad Max: Fury Road for the first time.

To think its a year from its initial release.

When I was a kid watching Mad Max: The Road Warrior had a big effect on me.

I mean look at this Dude.

THE ROAD WARRIOR, (aka MAD MAX 2: THE ROAD WARRIOR), Kjell Nilsson as 'The Humungus', 1982.

THE HUMUNGUS! THE WARRIOR OF THE WASTELAND! THE AYATOLLAH OF ROCK AND ROLL-AH!!!

 

The movie and also the third part of the series. Completely enamored me to the post apocalyptic genre.

Not to mention it gave me the idea how cool it looks to place ramshackle parts and weapons on to different kinds of vehicles.

I remember the type of toys my brother and I had back in the day.

I recall having the bulldozer van and the rampager car

I recall having the bulldozer van and the rampager car

MASK more 80’s cartoon goodness.

Yes I know I keep bringing up Dino Riders

Yes I know I keep bringing up Dino Riders

Once I started to explore other RPG systems outside of D&D, guess what came first?

I realized riding non-equestrian mounts is also my thing.

Riding weaponized non-equestrian mounts is also my thing

Clearly the movie had an influence on what I play and read.

Too bad, my friends and I never got to play Car Wars.

So Sayang

So Sayang

I have to say this movie was the best. It was a big car chase that went one way. And decided to go back to the start. So, essentially, it was a single loop race with lots of shooting and death. If you ask me. Nascar and F1 loops around more times, with far less weapons and death, that I care about.

The storytelling was so powerful even if the main character, characters that is,  just keep grunting, gesturing and slowly had a few one liners. And to think a lot of the story happens in one moving location. The War Rig.

Yep they went around in this

Yep all the action was in or around this. I think its a character by itself.

And lots of great shots. I just kept going.

YEAAAAH!!! 014724ded847ec450966699443df55fafe2270e6_jpg__620x931_q85_crop_upscale

and

YEAAAAH!!!madmax-insane1-805x334YEAAAAH!!!

madmax-insane3-805x333

 

YEAAAAH!!!

FURY ROADYEAAAAH!!!

FLY MONSTER TRUCK!!! FLY!!!

FLY MONSTER TRUCK!!! FLY!!!

YEAAAAH!!!

mad-max-witness-me

“WITNESS ME!!!” I think this is my favorite scene. What a way to go.

And.

No its not a (YEAAAH!!!) scene. It just inspired me to make a paracord bracelet with no buckle.

No its not a (YEAAAH!!!) scene. It just inspired me to make a paracord bracelet with no buckle.

I have no idea how many times I went (YEAAAAH!!) in this movie. I should probably make this new (YEAAAAH!!!) scale to rate how good a movie is.

But I’ve taken too long to introduce the character I want to talk about.

When Mr. Immortan Joe decided to rush after Imperator Furiosa seeing that his prize concubines have been taken away.

He decides to bring his entire war band to the chase.

Initially watching the motorized horde preparing and then rushing forward was making me feel excited.

I admit the hair on the back of my arms were raised.

Then they showed the drum band on the back of a truck pounding the cadence of the warband.

Bang away Boys!!

I was like. Ok he has his own drum team to go Ra Ra Ra at his war band.

Then as the camera panned around to its front.

EPIC!! JUST EPIC!!!

EPIC!! JUST EPIC!!!

I was like. “WOOOOAH!! THIS SCENE IS TO THE HILT!!!!”

The soundtrack currently played was being, well I have to say the word again, played in the movie by some Dude in a red onesie blasting away with combi-flamer guitar.

My Inner nine (9) year old was so happy.

SOOOOO HAPPY.

YEAAAH!!

This Dude, whom I later learned is named Coma Doof was conveying Immortan Joe’s orders to the Warband.

With his music

He was inducing /inspiring/exhorting feats of bravery, courage and madness in the other members of the warband.

With his music.

He was a post-apocalyptic BARD if you ask me.

Or a pos-apocalyptic Noise Marine.

So here he is in his D&D glory.

Enjoy you guys.

I think I should point out, I should do the same thing for Imperator Furiosa. But I am waiting for the story, in any format, that explains how she lost that arm.

Thanks to Artofalberto for the artwork.

Thanks to Artofalberto for the artwork.

